BioEdit and Windows 7

Posted: 21/03/2012 in Molecular Biology, Protein Crystallography, Softwares

I am a big fan of BioEdit, it’s a very efficient, multi-purpose software for dealing with all the in silico DNA work that I do on a regular basis. It has very convenient options, such as the quick CTRL+G translate hotkey and many others.

And I was very disappointed when, after buying my new laptop, BioEdit was randomly giving errors and crashing. The most annoying problem however was systematic, the marvelous CTRL+G option was not working anymore, giving a miserable windows error “0,13 is not a valid floating-point value”.

Well then, the BioEdit website contains a lot of suggestions on how to fix the various problems (check the bottom of the main page), including a guide on how to fix a similar problem, related to non-US usage of BioEdit on Windows 7 computers. However, the 0,85 problem seems to be different from my 0,13 , as the suggested fix did not work.

BUT 🙂

the old version works! So, if you are facing the same trouble, download the 7.0.8 version of BioEdit, and you’ll be a happy user again!

Comments
  1. Patricia Landaverde says:

    Hello. I have the same problem. when I try to get aminoacid sequence or try to use the Ctrl+G, appear the same message 0,13. I install the old version, but I even could not open a sequence with that in Windows 7, and I try to correct the 0.85 problem but does not work to me. Do you think that there is something that I am doing wrong. I open the Bioedit file and change the point by , and does not work. Help!!

    • ominodighisa says:

      What i noticed is that depending on the hardware configuration and the version of Windows 7 there are several bugs/errors that show up. I have one laptop where with BioEdit v. 0.85 crashes miserably every time that I try to generate a restriction map, but works well with the 7.0.9 version, whereas on another laptop (same Windows 7), there’s no problem at all with restriction map, but have to use the 7.0.8 because otherwise I get the 0,13 error. So, the only suggestion that comes to my mind is try other old versions, there might be one that will work in your case! Good luck!

Leave a comment